UHSAA announces first consideration of reclassification of regions

The Utah High School Activities Association (UHSAA) announced their first official consideration of reclassification of high school regions in Utah.
Much as was the case with the initial consideration, Monticello High School is on the move from 1A Region 19 to 2A Region 18. Monticello will join Beaver, Enterprise, Kanab, Milford, and Parowan in the respective new region.
San Juan High School is also on the move in the first consideration of region for 2019-21. San Juan will move from 3A Region 15 to 3A Region 12. They will join Emery, Grand, and South Sevier in the move with Richfield and Carbon in the new region.
Monument Valley, Navajo Mountain, and Whitehorse high schools will move to the new 1A Region 20b. The new region will consist of the three San Juan County high schools, Lake Powell, and Pinnacle. The new region is the same as the old 1A Region 19 with the subtraction of Monticello and Wayne.
A public hearing will be held Wednesday, Dec. 5 at 6:30 p.m. in an attempt to get feedback from the various districts, schools, and communities on the placement of schools into regions.
The public hearing will be held at Jordan High School in Sandy. In addition to the hearing, the UHSAA Board of Trustees is seeking public comment regarding region placement of schools. To comment, visit www.uhsaa.org/machform/view.php?id=14359
The assignment of schools into regions will be finalized this Friday, Dec. 6, 2018 by the Board of Trustees, allowing time for schools and regions to organize and schedule for the two-year alignment period. The first contests under the new alignment will take place the fall of 2019. The enrollment data upon which the alignment is based will be less than one year old. The UHSAA Board of Trustees retains the responsibility for alignment of all member schools.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday