General election is set for November 8

by David Boyle
News Director
Election day is less than a week away on Tuesday, November 8. Among the contested races in San Juan County include school board, county, tribal, state, and federal races.
Early voting sites are operating throughout the county on each weekday from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm.
Early voting next week will be at the Bluff Community Center on Wednesday, November 2. The White Mesa Center and Aneth Chapter House on Thursday, November 3. And at the Monument Valley Welcome Center on Friday, November 4.
Mail-in ballots can be dropped off at official drop box locations or mailed in so long as they are postmarked by Monday, November 7th. They can also be dropped off at polling locations on election day.
Election Day voting will occur from 7:00 am to 8:00 pm at five locations in the county. Locations include the Monticello County Administration Building. The White Mesa Community Center, The Montezuma Creek Dine’ Professional Building, the Monument Valley Welcome Center, and the Navajo Mountain Chapter House.
Ute Language assistance will be available for voters at the White Mesa location, while Navajo Language assistance will be available for voters in Montezuma Creek, Monument Valley, and Navajo Mountain.
Among the elections occurring this November are non-partisan elections for the San Juan School District Three seat. Voters will be choosing between Colleen E. Benally and Sheila Stubbs Knight who each won a primary election in June.
A late discovery that two incumbent board members were located in District 5 has canceled the uncontested race for that seat.
As reported in the October 26 edition of the San Juan Record the discovery that both Merri Shumway and Nelson Yellowman are located in the redistricted boundaries of seat 5 means that Shumway will finish two years on a term to represent the seat before another election for that seat.
Yellowman was re-elected to office for a four-year term in 2018 while Shumway was re-elected to a four-year term in 2020.
Per state code, school board elected officials are entitled to fill out their elected terms.
As a result of redistricting, Shumway will represent district five through 2024.
Other races in the county include two races for the county commission seat, the county sheriff, clerk/auditor, and attorney. 
Candidates for Commission District Two include Democratic Incumbent Willie Grayeyes and Republican challenger Silvia Stubbs.
Candidates for Commission District Three include Democratic Incumbent Kenneth Maryboy and Republican challenger Jamie Harvey.
Candidates for County Clerk/Auditor include Republican Incumbent Lyman Duncan and Democratic challenger Garrett Thomas Holly
Candidates for San Juan County Sheriff include Republican Lehi Lacy and Democrat Al James Whitehorse.
One candidate has filed as a write-in for the county attorney position, that’s Brittney Ivins.
Incumbent Sheriff Jason Torgerson and Incumbent County Attorney Kendall Laws did not file for re-election.
Also up for election in 2022 is a two-year term for the 69th District of the Utah House of Representatives.
The district includes all of San Juan County, as well as Kane, Garfield, and Wayne counties. During the 2021 redistricting process, Piute County, as well as portions of Beaver and Sevier counties, were removed from the district.
In exchange, all of Grand County, as well as parts of Emery County, were added to the district.
Incumbent (R) Phil Lyman is seeking re-election against (D) Davina Smith. Both candidates are from San Juan County.
Judicial retention elections include for Paige Petersen for the Supreme Court of Utah, Judge Don Torgerson and Judge George Harmond for the 7th District Court as well as Judge Lyon Hazleton for San Juan County, Monticello and Blanding Justice Courts.
The US House District 3 seat is also up for a two-year term. Candidates include Republican Incumbent John Curts, Democrat Glenn Wright, Libretarian Michael Stoddard, Constitutional party candidate Daniel Cummings, Independent American Party candidate Aaron Heineman.
One of Utah’s Senate seats is up for a six-year term. Candidates include Republican Incumbent Mike Lee, Unaffiliated Evan McMullin, Libretarian James Hansen, and Independent American Party candidate Tommy Williams
Candidates for State Treasurer includes Republican Incumbent Marlo Oaks, United Utah Party candidate Thomas Horne, Independent American candidate Warren Rogers and Libretarian Joseph Buchman.
Voters will also consider a Utah constitutional amendment.
In addition to Utah elections, Navajo Nation elections are also being held this year.
Navajo Nation Council delegates are up for election this year. Davis Filfred and Curtis Yanito will be on the ballot for the seat representing Mexican Water, Tolikan, Teec Nos Pos, Aneth, and Red Mesa.
Navajo Nation Council Delegate Incumbent Nathaniel Brown will face off against Shaandiin Parrish for the seat representing Chilchinbeto, Dennehotso, and Kayenta Chapters.
Incumbent Herman M. Daniels will face challenger Henry “Hank” Stevens for the delegate seat representing Tsah Bii Kin, Naa’tsis’aan, Shonto Community, and Oljato chapters.
Navajo Nation voters will also cast ballots in a Presidential Election between Incumbent Jonathan Nez and Buu Nygren.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday