Municipal elections for Bluff and Monticello around the corner

Candidates for the three seats in Monticello and two seats in Bluff will be seeking appointment to four-year terms by voters in late November. 
While elections in Utah are generally at the beginning of November, the planned September resignation of Congressional Representative Chris Stewart of the Utah District 2 has resulted in Utah Governor Spencer Cox issuing a proclamation to hold the general election on November 21.
Bluff town council candidates include Jennifer Davila, Wes Shook, Britt Hornsby, and Gary Lichtenstein.
Neither of the incumbents, Brant Murray and Jim Sayers, will seek re-election.
Monticello voters will be electing three representatives from a pool of six candidates.
Candidates include Kim Henderson, Jeremy Hoggard, Nathan Chamberlain, Kirk Crowley, Ron Skinner, and M. Mack Smith.
Henderson, Chamberlain, and Skinner are all incumbents seeking re-election.
Profiles of Monticello and Bluff candidates will run in upcoming editions of the San Juan Record.
While Blanding did have five candidates register to run for three seats on the council two withdrawals means the city has canceled the election due to uncontested races.
Incumbents Christopher Ewald and Kellen Nielson will return to the city council, with Charlie Taylor replacing council member Len Gasser who did not file to seek re-election.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday