General election results: Yes in Bluff, no in Blanding

Approximately 2,800 voters participated in the general election in San Juan County, with municipal ballot issues that will impact the future of Bluff, Blanding and Monticello.
The question of whether or not to incorporate in Bluff had a clear answer as nearly 75 percent of voters approved incorporation. In total, 89 voters approved incorporation and 32 voters opposed.
In Blanding, a ballot question of whether to allow alcohol sales went down to defeat, with 573 voters opposing the sale of alcohol and 299 voters approving. The Blanding City Council has said that they would follow the wishes of voters.
Joe B. Lyman will become the new mayor of Blanding in January. He ran unopposed and earned 652 votes.
For the two four-year positions on the Blanding City Council, Robert Turk and Cheryl Bowers earned the most votes, with 438 for Turk and 427 for Bowers. Finishing third is Taylor Harrison with 387 and Robert Ogle with 329 votes.
Logan Shumway was elected to a two-year position on the Blanding City Council with 576 votes, defeating challenger Corey Raisor with 272 votes.
In Monticello, Mayor Tim Young was voted to a second term with 370 votes, defeating challenger Craig Leavitt, who earned 163 votes.
George Rice was re-elected to a second term on the Monticello City Council with 388 votes. The remaining seat will be determined later as Bayley Hedglin earned 273 votes and Dan Hunter earned 272.
In the race to replace Congressman Jason Chaffetz in the US House of Representatives, Republican John Curtis earned 1,418 votes in San Juan County, outpacing Democrat Kathie Allen, who earned 865 votes. Jim Bennett earned 171 votes, John Whalen earned 125, Jason Christensen earned 77, and Joseph Buchman earned 68.

San Juan Record

49 South Main St
PO Box 879
Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435.587.2277
Fax: 435.587.3377
Open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday