Candidates file for office
Mar 26, 2014 | 4670 views | 0 0 comments | 54 54 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A host of candidates registered to run for elected office in a filing period that ended on March 20. There are a number of open positions, including local, state and federal offices.

In San Juan County, candidate filing for Commissioner representing District #2 include incumbent Phil Lyman (R) and challenger Norman Johnson (R).

There are four candidates for Commissioner representing District #2, including incumbent Kenneth Maryboy (D), Roger Atcitty (D), Rebecca Benally (D), and Manuel Morgan (R). Maryboy is also running for President of the Navajo Nation.

Filing to run for County Attorney are incumbent Craig Halls (R), and challengers Kendall Laws (D), and Walter Bird (D).

Candidates for County Assessor include incumbent Howard Randall (D) and Shelby Seely (R).

Seeking the open County Clerk seat currently held by Norman Johnson are Dawn Shaw (D), John David Nielson (R), and James Francom (R).

County Recorder Louise Jones will be replaced by David Carpenter (R) or Tina Corrao (D).

Two incumbent county office holders were the only ones to register to run, including County Treasurer Glenis Pearson (R), and County Sheriff Rick Eldredge (R). Eldredge ran as a Democrat in the 2010 election.

The only candidate to file for County Surveyor is Sam Cantrell (R). Incumbent David Bronson is not running for reelection.

While county offices are generally for a four-year term, the Assessor, Recorder, Surveyor and Treasurer positions are for a six-year term for this election.

County officials state that this decision was made to balance the number of county offices in each election. Only one county commission seat was on the 2012 ballot, while there are nine county positions on the 2014 ballot.

An additional change is that all voting in San Juan County for county, state and federal positions will be through mailed ballots in November. There will be no open polling places on election day.

Two positions are open on the San Juan School Board. Incumbent Elsie Dee is the only candidate for the position in District 4. Incumbent Nelson Yellowman will be challenged by Jean H. Nimrod for the school board position in District 5.

Three Seventh District Court Judges face judicial retention elections, including Lyle Anderson, Scott Johansen and Mary Manley.

Incumbent Mike Noel (R) is the only candidate for the local position in the Utah State legislature.

Five candidates will seek the Utah Attorney General position in a race left open by the resignation of John Swallow.

There are six candidates for the open position on the Utah State School Board.

In the race for the US House of Representatives, incumbent Jason Chaffetz will be challenged by seven candidates.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of