Berrett is named teacher of the year
Apr 06, 2011 | 5628 views | 0 0 comments | 133 133 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jared Berrett (left) is Teacher of the Year for the San Juan School District.  Berrett is pictured with Superintendent Doug Wright. Courtesy photo
view image
The classroom efforts of Jared Berrett were recognized on March 30 as he was named Teacher of the Year for the San Juan School District. Berrett, a Career and Technology Education teacher at San Juan High School, is renowned for his success leading pre-engineering students.

Dr. Berrett was teaching at Brigham Young University several years ago but felt the desire to teach at the high school level. His pre-engineering program has enjoyed tremendous success, with a nationally-recognized robotics program at its core.

“Jared really empowers the students to take charge of their learning,” said Ron Nielson, director of education for the school distrct. “They have every area of the curriculum covered, from design and production, to advertising and management. He supervises, but the kids do the legwork.”

The San Juan School District Foundation sponsors an annual staff appreciation banquet to honor those who receive teacher or employee of the year honors.

Each school names an employee of the year and a teacher of the year. Blanding Elementary School honored Meagan Butler and Dana Johnson. Albert R Lyman Middle School honored Tina Crofts and Krest Knight. San Juan High honored Jared Berrett and Gena Nielson.

Monticello Elementary honored Gary Redd and Trevor Olsen. Monticello High honored Lucas Peless and Thea Langston.

Bluff Elementary honored Amanda Bouchard and Tom Winder. Montezuma Creek Elementary honored Nelda LaPhae and Donna Crank. Whitehorse High honored Linda Whitehead and Carol Reynolds.

Mexican Hat Elementary honored Darlene Valentine and Brenda Joe. Monument Valley High honored Jack Seltzer and James Black. Navajo Mountain High honored Crystalyn Jensen.

District office employees who were honored include Vernon Hatch, Loren Bleak, Lisa Bradford, Jeroldene Bailey, Mary Palmer, and Robert Blake. 

Anne Howe was the 2010 Teacher of the Year for the school district.  

For more information on supporting the Foundation, call 435-678-1213.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet
The San Juan Record welcomes comments on our stories. Please be civil, respectful, focused and humane. Postings are not edited and are the responsibility of the author. You agree not to post comments that are abusive, threatening or obscene. Postings may be removed at the discretion of